Every Single Time I Do, I Am Grateful I Did

Posted on February 20, 2012

11


Running, or rather, any form of exercise, has become a necessity in my life.  I don’t always enjoy the blood, sweat and tears of it all.  Sometimes, I downright despise it.  But, when all is done and I am standing there wiping away the sweat from my eyes, I realize how important it all is to me.

I have never had a workout I regretted.  Yes, there have been many times when I wanted to throw up or fall to my knees and beg for mercy.  But, and this is a big BUT, every single time I finish my workout I look in the mirror and I am always proud of the person staring back at me.  Whether I am running 5 miles or desperately trying to get through the Spartacus Workout (this workout is insane), I know that when it’s all over I’ve accomplished something great.  It’s not even really about being healthy or looking fit, it’s about overcoming my own doubts and fears.  It’s proving to myself, almost daily, that I am capable of anything.

What some people don’t appreciate is that working out is really a personal journey, whether you do it alone or with a group of people.  In the end, it’s you that decides if you will keep going.  It is you, and only, that overcomes the obstacle.  I have noticed that in all my workouts it’s often more difficult to keep my mind moving, then it is to keep my body moving.  It has helped me realize that everything in our lives begins and ends with belief.  We must first believe that we can accomplish something, before we even attempt to do it.  Would you even try running if you thought it was impossible?  You run, or attempt to, because you believe you can.  But, it’s hard to grasp the reality of that fact until you are actually doing it.  It’s not until I want to quit that I realize how I have grown to believe in myself and that gives me the motivation to keep going.  It is in that moment that I actually realize I am doing (or even trying) something I once thought I never could do and that is always empowering.  Every single workout, both good and bad, become memories that are locked in place and serve to fuel me in my weakest moments.  They are my confidence and my belief.

Working out does not consume my life.  It has just become an essential part of it.  It is a time when I am most proud of who I am and when I realize how much I truly believe in me.  In actuality, I am really no different from anyone else.  There are days when I have no desire to work out.  There are even days when I don’t see the point in pushing myself to my limits.  But, put simply, every single time I do, I am grateful I did.

By Raul Alanis

