Commit Yourself to Greatness

Posted on February 8, 2012

0


I once thought I would never run a full marathon.  Actually, I once thought I would never even run a 10K.  To be honest, I have never run a 10K to this day, because, well, I committed myself to something more.  I learned after my first couple of 5K’s that I was capable of anything as long I believed that anything was possible.  All I had to do was commit myself to any goal and do my best to accomplish it.

Recently I had to commit myself to another goal, which may seem trivial to some, but to me it was important.  I have never been able to jump rope.  I don’t know if I missed that class when I was young or simply never really tried, but for whatever reason I never properly learned how to jump rope. About two weeks ago I was still unable to do it.  In fact, I was so awful at it that I actually broke Rachel’s jump rope.  I somehow stepped on the plastic handle as I was getting ready to attempt it (don’t ask).  Yes, I was that bad.

Rachel can jump rope with the best of them.  You should see her with that thing.  She looks like a boxer, moving her arms around with perfect precision and jumping like it’s no problem at all.  She double jumps, triple jumps, hops from leg to leg and also runs in place.  Then, she gets all fancy-like and starts crossing the rope in front of her as she is jumping.  I asked her how she got so great at it and she smiled and said, “I don’t know.  I guess we did it when we were in school.”  Well, that answer just wasn’t acceptable.  “How,” I said, “do I learn to do it?”  Well, I should have been able to answer my own question.  All I had to do was think back to when I once asked, “How do I become a runner?”  The answer, you see, was simple, I just had to try.  Then, I needed to commit myself to it.  Thus, I went out and bought a new jump rope.  I exclaimed to Rachel, “I am going to learn how to do this!”  I didn’t know how I would do it, but I knew that I was going to commit myself to it.

When I first started trying to jump rope I couldn’t do it longer than 20 seconds.  Finally, I learned to do it for two minutes without stopping.  However, that still wasn’t enough for me.  I wanted to do what Rachel could do.  I wanted to push for something more.  I wanted to cross the rope in front of me while I jumped.  I wanted to run in place and double jump on each foot.  I wanted to look like I had been jumping rope for years.  In turns out all I had to do was commit myself to it and believe it was possible.  Today, just a couple of weeks later, I can do all of those things.  I wouldn’t say I am great at it, but it’s a work in progress.  The fact is that I am trying and that’s all that really matters.

The moral of the story is that you can do anything if you set your mind to it.  Yes, jumping rope may seem insignificant, but in the grand scheme of things it helped push home the thought for me that nothing is impossible.  Whether it’s learning to jump rope, running your first 5K or simply running for the first time, you must commit yourself to it.  Once you do that, anything is possible.  Commit yourself to greatness!

