Runner…You Are Not Alone

Posted on January 27, 2012

16


When I began this running site it was a way to keep me focused on my goal of running my first half marathon.  Over time it has developed into something much more.  It has manifested itself into a place where beginning runners seek validation or motivation.  It has also become a place where those who are suffering from an injury or self-doubt can find solace in the fact that someone out there completely understands what they are going through.

I am sometimes flabbergasted that people out there would think that I know anything about anything, especially running.  But, I do my best to provide encouragement and, most of all, hope.  I know that injuries and self-doubt can often derail our plans and make us question our abilities.  However, I also know that it’s support from others that often provides the spark we need to keep moving forward.  Even if that spark is minimal, it’s nonetheless a spark and means maybe, just maybe, that fuse will stay lit.  I know that I am not a subject matter expert on running, but I do my best to empathize with everyone.

Sometimes we learn to believe in ourselves in spite of ourselves, if that makes any sense at all. What I’m trying to say is that we are often the reason we don’t succeed at something.  We begin to doubt ourselves, which is actually pretty easy to do, especially if we are reaching for a goal all on our own.  What we forget is that there are other people out there struggling with the same things.  My blog has opened my eyes to the running community and the struggles that runners face.  It has made me realize that Rachel and I are not alone.

I remember telling Rachel that if I could inspire one person to run or keep running, then I would know that I kept my blog up for a reason.  When I finished my first half marathon I saw no reason to keep talking about my experiences.  Frankly, I didn’t think people cared.  Then, out of nowhere, people began asking me questions and looking for advice.  I had everything from, “How do I become a runner?” to “What do I do about my runner’s knee?”  I answered to the best of my knowledge and tried to do so as a fellow runner who understood the trials and tribulations of running.  What I realized is that over time I was helping people keep running.  But, the kicker is, they were all keeping me running.  I needed them, just as much as they needed me.  To this day I am still running because of all of you who believe in me.

I have often asked God what my purpose is in life and I have always told Rachel that I think I am supposed to help people in some way; to give them hope and give them courage.  I don’t know if I have ever really done that, but I try.  It has been so humbling to have people tell me “Thank you for your blog.”  If fills me with an overwhelming sense of gratitude.  It makes me glad that this running website stopped being about me a long time ago.

This running blog is for all of those people who are searching for someone to believe in them.  This blog is for every runner who never thought they were a runner.  This blog is for those who are looking for hope and encouragement.  This blog is for every person who has attempted to move faster than a quick walk and who have done their best to go further than they ever thought possible, both in running and in life.

I want to say thank you again to all of you who keep me running.  I hope that I have done the same for you.  As always I welcome any questions or concerns.  I know I am not an elite runner or a doctor, but I guarantee I will answer your questions as a fellow runner and friend.

“Always start to finish.  Never finish with regret.”

By Raul Alanis

