Beginning Runner: Run to Live

Posted on January 4, 2012

14


If you were to ask me if I enjoyed running every day, I would say no.  I would want to say yes.  I would even feel the need to say yes.  But, I would be lying.  Running isn’t always enjoyable, but, then again, neither is life.  There are good days and there bad days, but somehow we all find a way through them.  Sometimes I think people misconstrue what it means to actually be a runner.  I think some people believe that all runners are passionate and live to run.  But that’s not always the case.  Sometimes, people just run to live.

I think beginning runners become discouraged when they notice that running isn’t as fulfilling as everyone makes it out to be.  The thing is, running isn’t always easy nor is it always fun.  Sometimes when runners speak of passion and love of running, it’s after they have been removed from a hard run; a run in which they were pushed to their limits and maybe wanted to quit. I know that when I speak of running in such a positive light it’s because I can’t believe I’m still doing it.

We don’t always love something immediately.  You don’t start running for a week and suddenly feel like running has changed your life.  It’s a process that gets better over time.  It’s something that you learn to love.  What’s important is that it becomes a part of your life, no matter how big or how small.

There are indeed many benefits to running.  I am living proof that over time running can become a part of you.  But, I wouldn’t necessarily always call it a passion.  Sometimes it’s just something that I do.  I don’t always live to run, because there are often more important things in life.  I run because I can and because I know it leads to a healthier lifestyle.

When you become a new runner you must be patient.  Don’t expect your life to change overnight.  Don’t expect it to always be easy.  In fact, expect it to be difficult.  Running doesn’t have to be something that you are great at, it just has to be something that you do.  In the end, you will learn what it means to run in order to live, and suddenly everything will fall into place.

