Start to Finish

Posted on September 9, 2011

2


Getting back to the marathon training schedule has been a difficult process.  After recovering from my Achilles injury I have had to work my way up in mileage.  Making up for the lost time has proven to be the hardest part.  Unfortunately, time does not stop when you’re healing.

At this point in my training I am honestly just happy to be running again.  I have rested, iced, compressed and elevated for far too long!  I would love to say I feel 100%, but I am just happy to at least feel about 85%.  It’s still up in the air as to if my body will actually return to form in time for the full marathon.  I honestly don’t know if the full marathon is a possibility, but I am not a quitter and I intend to work hard to make it happen.  My tagline has always been, “Always start to finish.  Never finish with regret.”  The way I never finish with regret is to try my hardest no matter what.   I suppose it carries over into my life as well.  No matter what I am working on I know that I will always try to finish a task to the best of my ability.  I don’t know if I will be able to continue training for the full marathon if this injury remains, but I can sure as heck try!

Tomorrow I am going to try and run 7 miles and I am really not sure how my body will feel.  All I know is that 5 miles yesterday was harder than the 9 miles I accomplished 3 weeks before.  But, it’s expected when you are recovering from an injury.  Time may not stop when I’m healing, but neither does my desire to finish what I started.

