Running Injury Day 5: Bad Weather, Knee Pain, Good Book and A Movie

Posted on February 4, 2011

2


I awoke to the continuation of pain in my left knee.  This story is getting old and frankly I don’t like it.  The only consolation is the arctic front that refuses to relent here in Dallas, TX.  Basically, it doesn’t allow for much running in the outdoors, nor can you really get to the gym to workout.  With icy roads and treacherous conditions one finds it only fitting to be injured on a week like this.  The snow is falling, no gym is calling and my knee is still stalling.

 I don’t know when my knee will get better, but I am hopeful that it will at some point.  For now I am focused on catching up on reading, writing my book and enjoying a good movie.

If you are unable to work out due to injury or weather conditions here is a list of some movies and books you might enjoy.

Movies:

Lars and the Real Goal:  This movie actually caught me and Rachel’s attention a couple of years ago.  We always kept catching different pieces of it, but noticed we enjoyed what we saw every single time.  We noticed it coming on recently and DVR’d it and finally got to watch the whole thing on Tuesday.  I highly recommend this movie if you are looking for an entertaining, non-pretentious movie that somehow enraptures you in its story.  The idea is kind of ridiculous, yet you will find yourself caught up in the movie and unable to pull yourself away.  I dare you to not like this movie.  Seriously, I dare you!

 

(500) Days of Summer:  I honestly think this is my favorite movie of all time.  I recently purchased it on sale at target for $6.00, which made me super duper excited.  We watched it on Wednesday for the third time and I still remain transfixed by the story.  It is heart wrenchingly beautiful and will surely move to the top of your movie list.  It is one of those movies where neither of us expected much but found ourselves loving every single minute of it.  It is my goal to make sure everyone in the world watches this movie.  Please help my cause and rent it, buy it, download it…just watch it. 

 

Books:

The Help:  I am currently reading this book per suggestion of my friend.  She assured me it was a wonderful book that fills you with so many emotions…she was right!  I cannot put this book down and should finish it within the next couple of days.  If you are looking for a great book to read I definitely recommend it.

 

 

Life of Pi:  This is currently my favorite book of all time.  It is yet another book you will not be able to put down.  The ending will definitely blow your mind and really create a lot of discussion between you and others who have read the book.  Highly Highly Highly recommend this book.

 

 

The Thirteenth Tale:  This is another book that will blow your mind and completely enrapture you in the story after about the 50th page.  I never intended to read this book.  Rachel had actually gotten it to read and I had already finished my book and needed something to read before finding another.  I stole her book and could not put it down!!  She read it after me and became so engrossed in it as well.  We both finished it in under a week’s time. 

It’s important to note that my life is not dictated by my workouts.  Working out is actually just a small snippet of my life.  I run because I enjoy it, which makes it hard in times like this.  I am injured, but it gives me the ability to sit back and enjoy other things in life.  Life is way too short to allow the beauty in this world to pass you by.  Sit back, read a book, watch a good movie, just relax…I know I have enjoyed it.  It doesn’t mean I am ok with it. 🙂  I want to run!

