Knowing When To Say Stop: A Runner’s Misfortune

Posted on February 3, 2011

6


I hate being injured.  I despise it with every fiber of my being.  After running 10 miles on Sunday I was excited to find that there was minimal soreness and no apparent sign of pain.  I went on about my day proud of my run and looking forward to our upcoming Cowtown Half Marathon.  However, by Sunday night everything changed. 

I noticed a slight pain on my left kneecap and figured it was a bruise of some sort.  It was tender to the touch and there was a slight tinge of pain whenever I bent my knee.  I figured that it was possible I may have hit my knee somewhere or was merely suffering from mild soreness.  When I awoke on Monday the pain was still apparent, but I thought it was normal to feel sore for at least two days after such a long run.  Unfortunately, I awoke today with the same pain and no sign of it diminishing.  After researching possible causes I was hit with the stark reality, I am injured.

To say this is a devastating blow would be putting it mildly.  Not only was my training going well, I was feeling on top of the world.  I had encountered an injury while training for the Rock n Roll Half Marathon in San Antonio, but luckily I was able to complete my training after taking a couple of weeks off.  I learned from that experience to take better care of my body and focus a lot more on cross training.  Up until this point it had been working.  Unfortunately, with my next half marathon less than four weeks away it is now likely I will not be able to run.    

At this point all I can wonder is where I went wrong.  Did I not stretch enough?  Did I run too hard?  Did I run to slow?  Did I run too much?  Did I not run enough?  Perhaps it’s just what’s meant to happen, but it doesn’t mean that it’s any easier to accept.  I am so disappointed I am not really sure what I should do.  It’s a waiting game, but I am afraid I know the outcome.   Even if my knee manages to get stronger, I have lost valuable training time.  Plus, I will need to ease back into the workouts and I have no time for that. 

I wish I could be optimistic, but at this point it’s just not possible.  I am merely a runner who can no longer run.  I am fully aware that it would be ridiculous to try and keep running.  Part of being a runner is listening to your body and knowing when to say stop.  It’s just, I am not ready to say stop.

Posted in: Health, Marathon, Running