Top 10 Excuses Not To Run (And ways to avoid them)

Posted on January 20, 2011

2


1    10. All my running socks are dirty:  Easy solution to this problem, buy more socks!  I will admit I have run into this problem more than once, but sometimes you have to suck it up and wear a pair of socks twice.  Don’t judge me.  At least I am running!  Seriously though, I run in a specific pair of Balega Hidden Comfort running socks.  They will definitely help you not blister.  Plus, they provide cushioning in the back of the foot. 

 

9.     9. I’m on my period.  Rachel always tries to use this even when she’s not on her period. I try to use this too, but Rachel doesn’t fall for it.  Rachel points out that although it makes the run a lot more uncomfortable it is definitely possible to run.

 

      

       8. The weather:  “It’s too cold!” or “It’s too hot!”  I know the weather can affect your run, but it’s not always a great excuse.  Learn to dress appropriately for the weather.  Remember that although it is cold your body will warm up quickly.  Don’t go crazy wearing too many things in the cold.  If it is 55 degrees or above you can actually run in a t-shirt.  If it is ridiculous hot like it gets here in Texas during the summer then try to dress as comfortable as possible and at least wear a cap.  (Don’t forget the sunscreen!)  You can honestly run in various types of weather, you just have to dress appropriately.

 

       7. I think I have already done too much cardio this week:  Of course you have.  There’s nothing like the old, “I don’t want to do too much cardio” to get you out of running.  Heck, I try and use it all of the time.  But, it’s important to get your runs in.  You must plan your runs accordingly.  It is important to cross train, but don’t forget to run consistently if you are planning to take part in a race.

 

       6. I need to shave my legs, wash my hair and paint my nails:  Rachel hates when I use this excuse.  Ok, just kidding.  All of that stuff can come after a run. 🙂

 

 

 

       5. I need to charge my iPod: Dang it!  That’s a good one, especially if you have to run on a treadmill.  Hmmm, running on a treadmill without an iPod, makes me sick even thinking about it.  That would be true torture.  Well, I guess you just have to run without it.  I suppose it’s your fault for not charging your iPod.  I’m sorry.  I’m really sorry.

 

 

       4. I feel like I’m getting a headache:  It’s funny how a headache always creeps up before a long run.  I often find if I have a headache it often diminishes during my run.  I suppose it’s because I am not thinking about it as much because everything else is hurting.  Just kidding, but really.

 

 

       3. I have to go to the grocery store:  Fine!  I know we all have to eat, but you better be running around the grocery store with your cart.  At least keep your heart rate up while shopping.  I know we have a lot to get done during the day, but again, try and plan your runs so they do not interfere with anything important.

 

       2. Running is too boring:  One thing you can do to avoid this…find a running partner (someone that brings out the best in you).  This makes running a whole lot easier, plus it gives you time to talk with a friend.  However, you must keep in mind that running is not always going to be exciting.  You must focus on the journey and where it will eventually take you.  Think about the end game.  The feeling of accomplishment when you finish your run is second to none (I didn’t mean to make it rhyme).

 

       1. I just want to relax:  I think we all do after a hard day at work.  But, too much relaxing can often make you feel lazy and unproductive.  I was sick a few weeks ago and was unable to run for over a week.  I was able to take time to relax and I realized it is actually a little overrated.  I had previously complained that exercising took too much of my day after work and that I never had time to relax.  When I had the time I noticed I literally spent way too much time watching television.  I felt so unproductive.  It helped me see that working out actually is an integral part of my day that I really do enjoy.

