Holiday Dessert and A Naked Cook

Posted on December 14, 2010

4


I always prefer to cook in the nude. Ha…I am so kidding…or am I? LOL…I bet it got you to read this though! And yes…I have shorts on 🙂 I think…No really…I do!!

I love bad food like a guy that loves bad food.  It’s that simple.  There are no smoke and mirrors when it comes to my desire for it.  Like everyone else I struggle during the holidays to maintain an acceptable weight and remain focused on staying healthy.  I read countless numbers of articles and blogs that are filled with various ideas on how to stay on track during the holidays, most of which pertain to portion control.  Are you kidding…are you freakn’ kidding me with that!?!  Who, in their right mind, would be able to control themselves in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory?  Even Charlie and his grandpa couldn’t (they drank the soda!).  The holidays are a veritable cornucopia of bad food similar to a sweet factory and to be honest, that’s how I like it.

Mississippi Mud Cake Recipe...Oh…This so can’t be good for you…It means we are running 5 extra miles this week…but oh so worth it.

I work out hard for a reason, which is (wait for it) to be able to eat bad in months like December.  There, I said it.  It was easier than I thought because I know most of you out there can understand.  I know that working out hard and supplementing it with a healthy diet allows me the opportunity to fall off the healthy wagon every now and then.  The main thing is to hop right back on.  If I deny myself the yummy goodness of holiday cookies, cakes, and a plethora of other treats, I am denying myself the true reason for the season, which is to try a new recipe…errr…wait…something has gone terribly wrong here.   The point is, sometimes we’re all going to eat badly, but it’s important to stay focused on your workouts that way it’s not so bad when you indulge yourself a bit.

And so it begins…

Rachel and I are healthy, but we are far from being health freaks.  Thus, when we got together with her family for their Christmas this past weekend we decided to try a new recipe that we knew wasn’t very healthy.  Ok, it’s sinful.  But, you know what…we have trained hard and frankly, I think we both deserved it. 

 

Mississippi Mud Cake

I’m always the official egg breaker…1156 times and counting without a shell.

  

Yes…Those are Rachel’s comfy house shoes. My feet were cold! Ok…She is lucky if she ever gets to wear them.

This has to be the sexiest thing I have ever seen.

No wait…this is sexier

Ok…I was wrong…This is even sexier!!

 

I could barely contain myself…the voices were talking again!!

Fresh out of the oven…oh this isn’t even the sinful part!!!

Rachel realizing we left this tag on the underside of the pan while it cooked in the oven. It was new…what do you expect? Don’t worry…it didn’t touch the food.

 

 

Yes…this definitely can’t be good for you. Maybe we will be running 10 extra miles!!

Marshmallos…mmmmm…more sinful!!

      

We have reached absolutely sinful status at this point!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A little pecan...

The final step!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mississippi Mud Cake is finally done!!

To top it off we made something else...

 

These were just too easy to make to pass up!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The snow man was our favorite!!

Ok, look, we know this is not all healthy to eat, but give us a break.  It is the holidays and you know what…we can always run!  I am sure we need to run a few ½ marathons to work all this off right?  Well, then, I guess that’s the goal!!

Happy Holidays!!!

What Kind of Desserts Will You Be Making?

