Inspiring the Uninspired

Posted on October 22, 2010

5


I have been thinking a lot about inspiration and why I really run. I don’t know if it’s because I love the fact that it keeps me healthy. I don’t know if it’s because when I run I am stress-free. I don’t know if it’s because every time I finish running I feel a sense of accomplishment. I really don’t know exactly why I run. All I know is that I love to run.

I have heard so many people say throughout the years that they are not, nor ever will be, a runner. I once thought that about myself as well. I couldn’t imagine pushing myself to limits that I believed my body could never conquer. Then, one day I did it. And, like Forrest Gump, “I just kept running.” There was no real goal in mind. I never said, “I’m running to get in shape” or “I’m running to win a race.” I just ran to, well, run. All of the other things like getting healthy, being stress- free and feeling accomplished just sort of became a bonus.

I realized how much I love running the first time I got sick a few months after I started. All I could think about was how badly I wanted to run again. I wanted to run even when my nose profusely dripped from the effects of a cold I had caught while running my first 5k race in 30 degree weather and 30 mph winds. I knew I had a desire that went deeper than expected and fueled me daily.

I may not be the best, fastest, or even the most accomplished runner. But, what I am most proud of is that I keep running. Sure there are days when it seems like another task that is too daunting to take on, but then I finish my run, stop my watch, and know why I continue. I wish I could tell you why I keep running, but, well, if you are not a runner I would like for you to try it for yourself and then I will not have to explain a thing. For those of you that are runners…you know why.

(Here is a link for a Couch to 5k program for beginning runners.)

